The Martian: What to Read Next

14 October 2015

So you’ve just read or seen The Martian and you’re now having Red Planet withrawal symptoms?  Can’t go another day without more Marsie goodness?  Fear not!  The Gateway doctor is in, and do we have a prescription for you!

Whether your chosen medicine is a book set on a scientifically-accurate Mars, a romantic vision of a Mars that could never be, or even that classic trope of an invasion from Mars, why not sit back, kick the red dust off your space boots and enjoy . . .

The Empress Of Mars by Kage Baker
Moving Mars by Greg Bear
The Martian Race by Gregory Benford
Mars by Ben Bova
The Sword Of Rhiannon (formerly Sea-Kings Of Mars by Leigh Brackett)
The Martian Chronicles by Ray Bradbury
A Princess Of Mars by Edgar Rice Burroughs
Adulthood Rites by Octavia Butler
The Sands Of Mars by Arthur C. Clarke
Martian Time-Slip by Philip K. Dick
First on Mars (also known as No Man Friday) by Rex Gordon
Stranger In A Strange Land by Robert A. Heinlein
Marsbound by Joe Haldeman
Unveiling A Parallel by Alice Ilgenfritz Jones & Ella Merchant
Red Dust by Paul McAuley
Ares Express by Ian McDonald
Mars Evacuees by Sophia McDougall
The Quantum Thief by Hannu Rajaniemi
Red/Blue/Green Mars by Kim Stanley Robinson
The Margarets by Sheri S. Tepper
Mars Is No Place For Children by Mary A. Turzillo
Winterstrike by Liz Williams

And, finally, the grand-daddy of all Martian books, H G Wells‘ timeless The War Of The Worlds. Remember:

the chances of anything coming from Mars . . .

Have we left some books out?  Yes, almost certainly – and at least one is going to be horribly obvious  – but that’s part of the fun of compiling lists!  Feel free to point out any omissions in the comments!

About Darren Nash

I'm Digital Publisher at Gollancz, responsible for the SF Gateway and SF Masterworks. Digitally, I can be found here, on Twitter at @SFGateway (officially) and @thenashmeister (unofficially). In meat space, I operate from a secret base inside a dormant volcano, on a remote pacific island that - mysteriously - doesn't appear on any official maps. Possibly. View all posts by Darren Nash → This entry was posted in Authors, Films, Whimsy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.